Day 18: Read all about it

Close your eyes for a moment and see the door to the home you deeply desire. Feel the keys and feel yourself opening the door. Take a step in and see the entrance hall with all the decor and paintings on the wall. Smell the home cooked meal that is brewing in the kitchen. Now repeat that scene once more making sure that you are participating rather watching yourself. Repeat again. Imagine the scene till it feels you already live in your dream home. It feels amazing, doesn’t it?

What if someone were to tell you that to get all you desire you need not do anything but imagine. That your imagining creates reality. But the only catch is, you have to repeat a mental act depicting you desire is fulfilled over and over again until it becomes vividly real. Then the physical manifestation will ensue. That and lots more about the human mind and power is what Neville Goddard, a renowned new thought believer and author, talks about in his book ‘The Law and the Promise’. That is my all time favorite book and I have read it over two dozen times. It is small but not slight. It’s content is rich, life-changing, liberating and uplifting. It was written in 1961. It’s probably the oldest book that I have ever read and loved.

It may sound like fairytale to one but how real is our environment? How real is the chair that you are sitting on? How real is the cloth that you are wearing? What we know for sure is that all that surrounds us was once an imagine item. It didn’t just appear out of thin air, poof. It started out as a plan in someone’s mind. That just how your life is and goes. It’s a projection of how you viewed your life will turn out like some time back. You simply do not reflect what’s going on around you. You affect it. You do all that with your thoughts.

image

Neville Goddard talks about how life works, the mind and how the spiritual realm operates with reference to the bible. He elaborates and illustrates with examples. And he challenges you to test your faith, test your imagination and not simply accept what he says. It may sound easy doing as he says but for people who really don’t control what is going in there mind, it’s a challenge at first because the mind is unruly and need to be tamed. But with a persistence and resilient mindset you will get exactly what you imagine. Be it good, bad or indifferent. The good part though is that you cannot harm another for we are connected spiritual and the spirit sees the other as yourself.

That means you can be financially free, that you can heal yourself, that you can find love, that you can travel the world, that you can be happy and free… It means that you can be, do and have all you desire. If you believe and put that belief into action. When am feeling like I want to give up, I run to that book. When am feeling exhausted mentally, physically and emotionally, I run to that book. It’s like my other personal Bible.

And this poet sums up a few of the truth Neville Goddard talks about in ‘The Law and Promise’ :

There is power within me which is Life itself;
I can turn to it and rest on it;
As I turn to it and rest on it,
It helps me and heals me all the time.

There is Wisdom itself within me which is Life itself;
I can turn and rest on it;
As I turn to it and rest on it,
It helps me and heals me all the time.

There is Love itself within me which is Life itself;
I can turn to it and rest on it;
As I turn to it and rest on it,
It helps me and heals me all the time.

Leave a Reply

