Unanimity

I still remember the first time I read Clementines von Radics’ poem ‘Mouthful of Forevers’. I read it three times and each time goose bumps formed on my forearm till I felt fire rise in me. It was on a still quiet cold night. A time when my mind and heart where going through a gruesome war. The heart, having a mind of its own (how ironic), wanted one thing and the mind the other. One wanted to perpetuate and the other to create. One wanted to continue building and the other to rebuild. They simply couldn’t hwork in tandem. All this was because of love. Let me rephrase that. This waging war between my heart and mind was because of someone I loved. At some point I felt hopeless and almost gave up on this very much talked about and experience that my heart and soul craves for until I read this beautiful work of art. It seemed to work wonders. From that moment my heart became still. My mind begun warming up to the heart’s desires again.

“Everything happens for a reason. And perhaps this is not a futile experience but one that raises the curtain for the much awaited true ‘romantic’ love. All this hurt and pain will soon be worth the storm of love coming my way. A love so hot that the sun feels jealous. A love that reminds one of the Mariana trench,  so deep and glorious. Love so infinite as the sands of the Sahara desert glaring the sun’s rays with adoration. A love as hard as diamond that hate, guilt, fear, blame, criticism, bitterness will ‘huff and pass’ but will not manage to make it crumble and fall. His love seeping through my broken heart  illuminating light and power, chasing away darkest of memories . Or better yet, my patched up heart and his synced together perfectly to create one whole new heart sharing a love so hopeful and consistent no matter the surrounding happenings. Certified love! This is worth releasing my past demons and breaking down these walls that only divide. I’d rather this story be a coma rather than a full stop. Let’s do this. ” whispered the heart and mind in unison.

Soon I will be chanting to Clementine von Radics’ words in jubilation. Finally, finally the turmoil is over. Peace engulfs my mind, my heart is rejuvenated and body is at rest. Here is the beautiful work of art. Enjoy.

Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Rodics

I am not the first person you’ve loved.
You are not the first person I looked at with a mouthful of forevers.
We have both know loss like the sharp edges of a knife.
We have both lived with lips more scar tissue than the skin.
Our love came unannounced in the middle of the night.
Our love came when we’d given up asking on love to come.
I think that has to be part of its miracle.

This is how we heal.
I will kiss you like forgiveness.
You will hold me like am hope.
Our arms will bandage and we will press promises between us like flowers in a book.
I will write sonnets to the salt of sweat on your skin.
I will write novels to the scar of your nose.
I will write a dictionary of all the words I have used trying to describe the way it feels to finally,
Finally found you.

And it will not be afraid of your scars.

I know sometimes it’s still hard
to let me see you in all your cracked perfection,
But please know;
whether it’s the days you burn more brilliant than the sun
or the nights you collapse into my lap
your body broken into a thousand questions,
you are the most beautiful thing that I’ve ever seen.
I will love you when you are a still day.
I will love you when you are a hurricane. “

Leave a Reply

