Let me forget

​Let me forget what it is like to love and be loved.

Let me be emotionally starved,

And left undeserved. 

Let me forget what it is like to touch and be touched in return.

Or better yet let me forget, at the thought of him, the way the butterflies in my stomach turn and churn. 

Let me forget the excitement of a brand new day

Or the sight of aspen trees in their majestic sway. 

But my sire,

Let me not forget what it is like to desire; 

A great gift from The giver and The gift;

Closing my eyes to dream the impossible,

Imagining a future so delightful and bright.

Opening them to a present so pleasant to my sight. 

Please, please, please,

For what it’s worth, let me not forget what its like to desire. 

That is where it all begins and ends. 

Desire! 

Leave a Reply

