WinterABC23 Storytelling Festival

Celebrating Small Wins

For someone whose chemistry teacher ingrained the fact that ‘it’s the small things that matter the most’ while teaching us the secret to balancing chemical equations, I’ve been shying away from celebrating small wins, shelving them until later on when they’d have gathered mass without much thought.

“A thankful heart hath a continual feast”

W. J. Cameron, Journalist and Businessman

Well, until recently when it hit me that am negating and hiding away from my progress.

In some ways I felt that that’s not big enough for a celebration, that others might see it as childish celebrate one new subscriber or having traffick to my blog increase. That I might jinx this and things may start going left rather than right. That I don’t deserve to ‘boast’ lest others feel bad.

“Never underestimate the power of small consistent wins whose effects compound over time. Set aside an hour every day to think and reflect without distractions. Celebrating the small wins is a great way to build confidence and start feeling better about yourself.”

But I had to go back to the drawing board and make some things make sense. Back to basics: Isn’t the small things, steps, acts that accumulate and lead to grander things? So if I don’t celebrate and appreciate the small things how do I expect them to appreciate into grandness? And if I do get to what I term ‘grand’ wouldn’t I still feel that that’s not large enough to be celebrate. Am I not fueling the ungrateful cycle, overlooking my efforts and progress and exacerbating apathy by not celebrating my ‘small’ wins?

Where did these thoughts grow from to begin with? Why am I even accepting these false positives?

Such mental cleansing has been my aim this year as a way to truly and consciously take care of my mental health.



This eureka moment has watered beautiful thoughts while I’ve uprooted those weeds that don’t allow me to celebrate my small wins. I can foresee healthy flowers sprouting.

Thoughts about celebrating small wins has opened me up to the fact that am progressing, that am truly and deeply giving my all and enjoying it while at it, that I have the strength, courage and creativity to keep on going, that am actually making an impact somewhere even if it’s not well pronounced.

This is fuel to my creative kindle, making me burn for longer as I share parts of me with the world.

Did you know celebrating means you’re grateful too?

So here henceforth I’m gonna celebrate the small wins for they need to be acknowledged and celebrated (so that they appreciate). And oh it feels wonderful to be genuinely grateful…

Celebrate the small wins Michelle, celebrate the small wins.

I hope you too will learn or relearn how to celebrate your small wins. There is nothing too small not to be celebrated.

Here is to celebrating our small wins:

One thought on “Celebrating Small Wins

Leave a comment