Poetry · WinterABC23 Storytelling Festival

Ero Kamano

“God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today. Have you used one to say ‘thank you’?”

William A. Ward (1921–1994)

“I admire all this who diligently live by faith.
For a bit there we broke up, faith and I.
And I went over to hope
Hoping she’d fill me up where faith failed
But now barely having escaped her clutches
For she nearly choked me,
I ran to love
Hoping she’d cleanse and uplift me back,
Back to faith grace’s.
But I’m starting to see
I can’t have a relationship with one
And leave out the others.
That they supplement
and calibrate each other
Adding the other fruits of the holy spirit
With creativity as the bonus dessert.
Seeing it in my fellow creatives,
That balance of the main three,
Has fueled me
Reigniting my efforts
Adding light to my path
Making my steps light
Warming up my creativity
Righting my misplaced heart
And giving comfort to my soul.
Truly,
Others light up you flame
With their sparks
When you’re running low.
I give thanks for their generosity
Even when they didn’t know
Their magic was like a wand to mine.”

“At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each one of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.”

ALBERT SCHWEITZER (1875-1965) NOBEL PEACE PRIZE WINNING MEDICAL MISSIONARY AND PHILOSOPHER

Leave a comment