Love · Poetry

What Is Love?

“How do you know what love is
when you didn’t encounter her at home
in her full glory
and wholly, adorning your crown?
Is it being pampered or hampered?
Is it even functional or its this damn dysfunctional constant?
Is it shaped like a human or is it an ethereal being?

Is it being gifted slurring words meant to cut
before they’re again used succinctly on you
to slip, soothe and still if not steal.
then against you, used to single you out and singe
then,
butter and batter…
then the cycle continues again?

Is it being hit when the heat gets out of hand
handing you blows and slaps,
later on using the same soiled hands on
the same battered body
to bring them pleasure,
as if the painful pressure wasn’t enough?

Is it being feed so well with tainted love
till they see you fit,
fit for some emotional exorcism
if not boxing in a ring,
not that,
the ring of rage, hate, greed and power
boxing you in darkness and powerlessness?

Is it this intoxicating entity
that has you like a kite so high
or is it that toxic component
that drugs and drags you down
to the bottom of the rock?

Is it being mentally belittled
chirped away at till you’re left
and left so torn
that little of you is left?

What is love?
Someone please tell me.
What is love?
Someone please show me.
What is love?
Someone please shower me.
What is love?
Someone please cleanse me.”


Support My Content Creation Journey (I deeply appreciate)

Buy Me Coffee


Let’s connect on my other socials


Read previous works

  • It’s Not You Against I, Afande
    It’s not you against I, Afande,It’s my voice against powers that be, people whom sat on that sit because I, the people, cast my vote to havethem there. It’s not you against I, Afande,It’s us against impunity, greedcorruption infesting the soulsof people who promised us change only to turn and back us into a corner, tax at our throats, dead dreams… Continue reading It’s Not You Against I, Afande
  • Disrobe This Love
    With every touch love’s imprints cling to our skin, its intricate patterns mapping excitement. We unfasteneach delicate hook, revealing the map of longingetched within. Finally, we stand bare: naked truth,our souls unmasked, our flaws unhidden. No morepretense, no more veils – just the raw, imperfect beautyof us… Disrobe This Love
  • #WinterABC24: The Freedom Collective
    “…I believe the best way to contribute in the long run is not to focus on a definition of success that society has given us but rather to focus on play, joy, passion, purpose, and ideas. So I’m seeking artistic freedom, not freedom in my art but rather freedom for my art. Freedom is important for creative work because we can’t… Continue reading #WinterABC24: The Freedom Collective
  • Eject These Jokers And Their Bill
    Our votes gave them power to sit onthat throne and empower the communitywith change. In stead they dip into ourpockets stretched thin, stealingwith their overbearing taxes in the promiseof change, leaving us with chum change, dry bowls, emaciated dreams, dead deeds. The women representatives, sell outs!Wengine wao kazi ni mdomo when notnecessary na urembo: disappointed withthese appointments. Don’t forget the clowns.… Continue reading Eject These Jokers And Their Bill
  • #WinterABC24: Echoes of Shattered Wishes
    They say two minds are better than one, I couldn’t agree more as Takudzwanashe and I took a pen. a blank page and our diverse thoughts to jointly weave together a story of a couple’s broken past peppered with shattered wishes, a hopeful present and perhaps a redemptive future in matters love and healing. Two voices, speaking for two as one. Thus… Continue reading #WinterABC24: Echoes of Shattered Wishes

2 thoughts on “What Is Love?

  1. love is a river that lost its way and found itself at the mouth of a water-eating monster – naaaahhhh, i just wanted to comment something

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment