Random Musings

Daily Doses of Delight


What are 5 everyday things that bring you happiness?


Thank you so much for being the light unto my path
as I walk(ed) through the valley of shadow of death
Thank you for being my compass when am lost,
my love that blankets me in warmth and power,
my faith when I feel my fate is crumbling and dying.
Thank you for being the bed I lay in when I need a hug,
infusing me with dreams full of power and acceptance,
truth and freedom, love and forgiveness and healing
Thank you for you universe.
You are my world and I deeply love you.

1. Gratitude

A day not started with giving thanks  always needles me and leaves me restless. I bow my head, pen my gratitude and it feels like some light is shining in me once a gain, delighting my heart.

Two words, thank you, carry so much power. It defines the attitude for my day and always makes me lighter and happier. It’s like a balm when all else hurts. It’s a catalyst for great deeds, thoughts and wonder.

It’s the best thing I’ve learnt in life especially when things are going well. We sometimes tend to forget to appreciate and be grateful when all is well. If you pick up on thing from my post pick this up. Learning to sincerely give thanks for anything and everything then watch what magic you’d open yourself up to.

2. The Trio Reading, Writing, Drawing

I have an intense love affair with words. I read as ferociously as I write: as I read, I crave to paint my words and feelings. These three feed off each other and in turn feed me. They make me come alive, want to do more, play more, believe more. They’re like an elixir that I never want to stop drinking.

Though sometimes I don’t have enough time to do all three I surely make a point to do one a day.

Does music with its succinct notes
infiltrating your thoughts
intoxicating your heart
make you climb walls you dread
like it climbs over the walls
you’ve built around your hurt heart?
What would we do without this art?
a world without the… art
will be liking living without a heart
leaving all more deeply hurt
or fat with greed, dead creeds
and be feeds for dark thoughts.
Thank the heavens for music.

3. Dancing to Music

If I did try to count the many a times music has helped me through a dark phase, a heart break or inspire me to be and do more, the limbs I own won’t suffice. My other pill and potion if I could crown it.

Music revolves around me or is it the other way around? I revolve around it as I sway to its notes. I get lost as I sway my hips, twirl, raise my head… I feel sexy, unstoppable and very capable to do anything. It’s resembling falling in love. Perhaps I fall into it’s amorous rhymes each time am in it’s essence.


We are not meant to tuck our dreams
under the pillow once we wake up
Leaving them at home as we go
and fund others dreams. They
should be the fuel that see us
do what it takes to live them.

4. Funding my Dreams

We have this saying in Swahili, ‘haba na haba hujaza kibaba’, that essentially echoes that small things lead to grand things. I can attest to this when I realized the impact of small deeds when I started out saving money. It was much but at the end of a year the interest it garnered made me appreciate the small things.

So on a daily I try to do something that when it all accumulates will lead me to achieve a goal. Be it small or grand goal. Could be showing up and writing. It could be rearrange my beliefs when it comes to money and actually implementing behaviors that will see me earn more. It’s could be simply giving thanks for all I have.

In the end I know I’ll achieve this or that because of these daily conscious tasks.



“Reading is like breathing in, and writing is like breathing out.”

Pam Allyn

“She is my musician, and me, I’m her favorite song.”

Rudy Francisco

5. Loving Others

Loving others, this is the icing on the cake. What is life without others and their love?

Loving others through kind deeds and loving words. Loving others by praying for them and being a shoulder when they need it. Loving others by reminding them of their light. Loving them through their right moments and the moments they lack light. Loving them when they feel they have nothing to live for and remind them of you. Loving the through a phonecall, a hug, a gift…

Especially when am going through tough times this is when I love them harder. Many a times they’re the rope they got me out under a rock.

I love my people in my brokenness and gratitude. Life without you all will be mo life at all. So everyday loving you is a deep delight.

So love others as you love yourself. 😘

Leave a comment