Poetry

Courage To Dream, Again

I have days I wake up wondering
what to do with life, to life, for life…
I have mornings where I break with
only dreams in me hold me together,
I have nights I toss on that bed
you’d think am dearly demented.
Then there are those small
moments I remember…
I remember how far I’ve come
on the road we call life,
of God and his promises,
of the little miracles I’ve done,
of the happy laughs that still echo
and carry me on,
of the magic I do hold.

I’ve been patient but slowly
turning into a patient.
I smile yet inside pain at times
cuts mercilessly the little hope
and faith I own and pawn.
am relearning to be kind to self
yet I keep hold of my wrongs,
for how long will I hold self back?
I am tired of broken dreams
and drowning feelings,
I am tired of wiping tears
and playing with fears,
I’m tired of shrinking
and sinking…

There are beautiful things out here
I pray I am still one of them,
that I attract more of them…
give me the courage to dream,
again, and do my dreams.

Leave a comment