Poetry

Daring Tonic

Describe one positive change you have made in your life.

My enemies; fear, regret, shame
had me living in the past tense
always a poison to my waters
making me rigid, making me tense.
My friends on the other hand
trauma, hate and oh sweet bitterness
inflamed me and framed a weight
that’d bury my light until darkness
swallowed me whole. Bandaids
only patched the surface, and I
killed pain with pills and potions…
only for moments. The momentum
changed though when I rediscovered
truth then once again love, hope, faith
flowed through my veins and recovered
all that was lost. Healing followed suite
feeling it’s way again in a body
that was swimming in ashes. Beauty
now shines…

I’m no longer bound by fear
trauma no longer makes me fear
I broke those chains and tore
their dears. It wasn’t easy neither
fun but if the reflection I’m seeing
now is to go by, it was the best I ever
gifted self.

Freedom, love, acceptance
are on the other side of healing
join me…on this holy commune.

Leave a comment